

# GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING CONFERENCE CALL – November 17, 2020/6:30PM MEETING MINUTES

# **WELCOME AND ROLL CALL**

Rich Wilson called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm and the following were in attendance:

	1_	
Balla	Tonya	Mundelein Fire Department
Baygood	Michael	South Lake County Regional CERT
Billings	Trish	Milton Township
Billings	Trish	Milton Township CERT
Black	Tony	Oak Park CERT
Blumenthal	Dave	
Braniki	Mary	
Briody	Tim	Lake County
Brooks	Connie	LaSalle County Emergency Management Agency
Cash	Scott	Huntley CERT
Chao	Virginia	Naperville CERT
Clifford	Kurt	McHenry County EMA
Devitt	James	Milton Township CERT
DuCharme	Patricia	
Erwin	Keith	Naperville CERT
Frizelis	Rich	Chicago Police Department - 12th District Community Policing Office
Fuentes	Eddie	Chicago CERT
Giuseffi	Danato	Huntley CERT
Greenberg	Norman	
Hemrick	Dottie	Milton Township
Hill	Howard	
James	Randy	South Lake County Regional CERT
James	Yvette	South Lake County Regional CERT
Karp	David	Buffalo Grove CERT
Kazak	Steven	Addison CERT
Keen	Linda	Carol Stream Police Department
Kelling	Raphael	
Konrad	Johanna	Community Emergency Response Team
Lapcewich	Dean	Milton Township
Lentini	David Mike	Milton Township

Lie	Richard	
Linker	Harley	North Aurora CERT
Louis	Jeffrey	Wauconda CERT
Lynch	Michael	Milton Township
Mierisch	Patricia	Huntley CERT
Moore	Jeanine	Milton Township
Moos	Mike	Sherman Emergency Management Agency
Moyer	Jeff	South Lake County Regional CERT
Naqvi	Souna Sakina	Milton Township CERT
Neilan	Leslie	Highland Park CERT
Nerenberg	David	South Lake County Regional CERT
Ochs	Tom	Highland Park CERT
Pugh	Warren	Buffalo Grove CERT
Rothschild	Dave	Highland Park Police Department
Rylek	James	Carol Stream CERT
Samson	Edward	Northbrook CERT
Seidner	Christine	Fremont CERT
Sezonov	David	Milton Township CERT
Sklansky	Jordan	Buffalo Grove Emergency Management Agency
Thoss	Sue	South Lake County Regional CERT
Torres	Kelly Davin	
Van Bladel	Mike	Round Lake Beach Emergency Management Agency
Wilson	Rich	Buffalo Grove Emergency Management Agency
Winter	Nancy	Buffalo Grove Emergency Management Agency
Woo	Jason	Chicago CERT
Wyke	Jeff	Highland Park CERT
Zimmer	Paul	Chicago CERT

# **OLD BUSINESS**

### **Election Update**

Board Member Rich Wilson stated that the Interim Board has decided to defer the election for a 6-month period of time for two reasons.

- 1. This deferred time will allow the membership roster to grow.
- 2. The deferred time will also allow potential candidates to make a more informed decision on their candidacy.

The Interim Board will stay on for the 6-month period and during that time the Board will start defining roles for each Board Member and define and harden Committee roles. Board Member Rich Wilson encouraged all attendees to consider a committee position if interested.

#### **Membership Meeting**

A poll was taken with all attendees on a start time for upcoming General Membership meetings. Of the 54 attendees 85% voted on 19:00 as the start time for General Membership meetings. All attendees agreed on the outcome with no dissentions.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Training Committee Chairperson Rich Frizelis held a training overview of FEMA's new guidelines for CERT organizations - "Review of Qualifications for CERT Roles"

Rich Frizelis presented FEMA's recommendation for CERT positional titles and qualifications to allow CERT organizations to become proficient and be recognized as being more valuable resource.

Board Member Mike Moos stated that the CERT Association incorporating these FEMA defined qualifications is a perfect mechanism for recognition as a viable resource by the State.

## **NEXT VIDEO CONFERNECE CALL/MEETING**

The next general membership video conference/meeting will be on Tuesday, December 15, 2020/19:00

## **Good of the Order**

Member Connie Brooks (LaSalle County EMA, State Cadre Member for CERT Train-the-Trainer) announced that the current CERT Train-the-Trainer curriculum is being updated to include the new Hybrid course. The release is yet to be determined.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Board Member Rich Wilson called the meeting at 19:35 PM with a motion. All attendees agreed with no dissentions.

Minutes respectively submitted by Board Member Kurt Clifford (McHenry County EMA)